Hong Kong Journal of Ophthalmology


The Hong Kong Journal of Ophthalmology is the official publication of the College of Ophthalmologists of Hong Kong. The aims of the Journal are to promote academic developments in ophthalmology, and to maintain continuing ophthalmological education of doctors of this specialty and other related disciplines. It is hoped that through achieving these aims, the quality of eyecare we offer to our patients can be lifted to new heights. The Journal will consider any submissions that fulfill these aims for publication.


The Hong Kong Journal of Ophthalmology is circulated to all members of the College of Ophthalmologists of Hong Kong and other professional societies and academic institutions in Hong Kong and other countries.

Advertising rates and order forms

Correspondence regarding advertisements should be addressed to:
The Secretariat
The College of Ophthalmologists of Hong Kong
Room 802, 8/F, Hong Kong Academy of Medicine Jockey Club Building, 99 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Aberdeen, Hong Kong
Tel: (852) 2761 9128
Fax: (852) 2715 0089
E-mail: [email protected]


Correspondence concerning subscriptions should be addressed to:
– Manuscripts should be submitted through the electronic submission platform at http://hkjo.hk. Please register for an account with the system, and upload respective files according to the instructions. All files must be submitted through the system.
– All manuscripts must be submitted in electronic format. The electronic file(s) should be in a format compatible with Microsoft Word for Windows. The ‘Page Setup’ for the electronic file(s) should be set to A4 paper size, with margins of 2.54 cm all round. Double line spacing should be used throughout.
– Receipt of your submission will be acknowledged by the system, and a reference number will be provided. Please quote the reference number at all subsequent correspondence with the Editorial Office.


List of Editorial Board members

Dr Alvin K.H. Kwok
Dr Arthur Cheng
Dr Pak-Chin Chow
Dr Dorothy Fan
Prof Jimmy Lai
Dr Timothy Lai
Prof Dennis Lam
Dr Nai-Man Lam
Prof Wai-Ching Lam
Dr Vincent Lee
Prof Chris Leung
Dr Dexter Leung
Prof Calvin Pang
Prof Kwok-Fai So
Prof Clement Tham
Dr Donald Woo
Dr Po-Fat Yiu
Dr Alvin Young
Dr Nancy Yuen
Dr Hon-Wah Yung
Dr Can Yuen
Associate Editor:
Dr Alvin Au
Section Editors:
Anterior Segment
Dr Tommy Chan
Dr Alex Ng
Dr Lester Yu
Dr Carmen Chan
Dr Andy Cheng
Dr Wing-Lau Ho
Pediatrics and Strabismus
Dr Connie Lai
Dr Winnie Lau
Dr Patrick Wu
Dr Jason Yam
Basic Science
Dr Wai-Kit Chu
Dr Amy Lo
Dr Kelvin Chong
Dr Hunter Yuen
Dr Derek Chung
Dr Angie Fong
Dr Lawrence Iu
Dr Callie Ko
Dr Ian Wong
Dr Jonathan Ho
Dr Jacky Lee
Dr Felix Li
International Advisors:
Prof R V Paul Chan (USA)
Dr Andrew Chang (Australia)
Dr Robert Chang (USA)
Prof You-Xin Chen (China)
Dr Gemmy Cheung (Singapore)
Dr Jay Chhablani (India)
Prof Victor Chong (UK)
Dr Makoto Inoue (Japan)
Dr Ryo Kawasaki (Japan)
Dr Hideki Koizumi (Japan)
Prof Kazuaki Kadonosono (Japan)
Dr Ji-Eun Lee (Korea)
Dr Joo-Eun Lee (Korea)
Prof Jennifer I. Lim (USA)
Prof Christopher Liu (UK)
Dr Miho Nozaki (Japan)
Dr Mehdi Shajari (Germany)
Prof Koh Hei Sonoda (Japan)
Dr Kiyoshi Suzuma (Japan)
Dr Yong Tao (China)
Prof Ning-Li Wang (China)
Mr Tom Williamson (UK)
Prof Tien-Yin Wong (Singapore)
Dr Sun-Yang (USA)
Prof Ming-Wei Zhao (China)